(Library) Book hall on Crutches

image

Yes, I do use flowers as a scale system for the height of book piles

Books!!
(what else?)

I think you can have a fairly good idea of the extent of your addiction to something  by the distance you’re prepared to go on crutches to get it.
By this test, I am very addicted to books. I just crossed my city to go to one of the public libraries (not the closest one, but the biggest, of course, because… more books!), and came back with a few of them. So this is my version of a book hall – because if I were to buy all those books I’ll be ruined in a few weeks, even if there are a few additional I’ve ordered online, and who happened to have been delivered today as well, so let’s mix it all:

The ones I bought:

  • I Call Myself a Feminist, the view from twenty-five women under thirty (Victoria Pepe and all.) Bought it because I recently joined a Feminist book club on Goodreads, to discover new books about feminism and to participate in the discussion around them, so I’m very excited to start this one, since I do call myself a feminist, after all
  • Leaves of Grass, by Walt Whitman, the Penguin Drop Caps Edition, because those are really too beautiful to pass by, and I’ve wanted a copy of Leaves of Grass for a long time. This is basically my “feel good purchase” post-knee injury.
image

pink poetry! (no other words needed)

The ones I borrowed:

    • Middlesex, by Jeffrey Eugenides. I don’t know why I’ve never read it, frankly. Every one says it’s amazing, I’ve read Virgin Suicides and loved it, and just never picked anything else by him ever since. I am weird. Well, that’s mended at least.
    • Bodily Harm, by Margaret Atwood. I don’t know much about this book, apart from what the blurb says, but it is by Margaret Atwood, and that is enough. I think I’m trying to read everything by her. Everything I’ve read so far I’ve loved, so again, a safe bet.
    • The Days of Abandonment, by Elena Ferrante (I giorni dell’abbandono). They had a “special italian authors shelf” at the library, and they always feature great reads, so I’ve picked this one up, having in mind that I would like to join in on the “around the world in 80 books challenge (#AW80BOOKS) set by Sarah and Lucy over at Hard Book Habit. It is apparently about a woman abandoned who progressively falls into madness. I’ve heard a lot about her other Neapolitan novels but haven’t read any of them, so I’ll report back once I’ve read it.
    • The Snow Child, by Eowyn Ivey: which I’ll be honest, I picked because of it’s cover. I mean, I’m only human. But it is apparently based on a Russian fairy tale, and seems like it contains a mysterious forest and elements of magical realism, so it is definitely for me.
image

also, as a Lord of the Rings fan, I’ll read anything by someone called Eowyn, you can’t have the name of a badass female character without being able to write good books, no?

  • The Blindfold, by Siri Hustvedt:Much like Atwood, Hustvedt is an author I’ve loved and trusted for a long time. Every novel is a masterpiece, and so is her non fiction. That is simply one of the ones I haven’t read before. It is about a young woman coming to New York to work for different artists, it is about identity and fragmentation and art, I would be very surprised if I didn’t like it:)
  • N-W, by Zadie Smith:  Again – there seems to be an emerging theme throughout this hall: books by female writers I love – But this one comes with an additional dose of melancholy since it is the last of Smith’s novels I haven’t read, and once I’ve finished it, I will have to wait for her to write a new one. I know that will be painful. But still, couldn’t resist.
  • La biblipthèque des coeurs Cabossés, by Katarina Bivald (Läsarna i Broken Wheel rekommenderar). This is the first book of a Swedish Author I know nothing about, except it says on the back that it is about a young Swedish woman working in a library corresponding with an elderly American woman, and deciding to go and meet her. Picked it at random because it is about books – the extend of the addiction even dictates my choice of books – and because I like to pick books at random. And on top of that, this might be part of #AW80BOOKS 🙂
image

pretty gorgeous cover as well

Here is for the book hall, then, hooray for public libraries and their treasures, I’ll report back on those books, maybe not systematically so tell me if there is any particular one you want to hear my thoughts about, and tell me if you’ve read or plan to read any of those, would love to hear your thoughts!
Have a nice reading weekend!

Leave a Reply

