Polyphonic secrets and unanimous war consequences – Le poids des secrets (pentalogy), by Aki Shimazaki

1614242

First tome of the pentalogy

I hesitated to write about this series of books I’ve just read, not because I wasn’t sure what I thought about it, but because they haven’t been translated to English yet. Then I thought, they deserve whatever meagre attention I’m able to bring to them, so here it goes:

This is a series of 5 small books (100 pages), that my physical therapist lent me, when we were discussing books in the middle of some knee exercises (what, do I manage to bring books in just any conversation? I at least try!).

Each of the five books has a different narrator, all from the same extended family. It starts with Yukiko, telling her and her parent’s life, and the dramatic events that occur, both in the familial history and outside of it, as Japanese history unfolds, with the 2nd World War, and the atomic bomb in Nagazaki. All the other books follow the same general themes: the family history, spanning over 4 generations, and its  devastating secrets, and the History of Japan, of the Korean immigrants, of the bombs and the 1923  earthquake.

9142909It is a very skilled picture of Japanese culture over the years covered – and a great lesson in Japanese history, also, as I knew very little of the tensions between Koreans and Japanese, the earthquake, but it is also a masterful portrayal of this family, through all those different voices. Even more impressive when you learn the books have been written directly in French by Shimazaki, who learnt it when she was 40 years old, living in Canada (geniuses like those would be very annoying, if they didn’t produce such interesting books!)

2 thoughts on “Polyphonic secrets and unanimous war consequences – Le poids des secrets (pentalogy), by Aki Shimazaki

  1. If only my French teacher had warned me that I’d regret my lack of diligence in language learning because of all the books I’d miss out on later in life. *sigh* These do look good, although I guess I’ll have to take for word for it! 😉

    Like

  2. that could have been a good argument indeed,I wonder why none of my language professors ever used it (or, while we’re at it, why they seemed to have a predilection for boring books in said languages, but that’s another debate;-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

